2nd week of March or 3rd week of August?

connorlevismom

DIS Veteran
Taking our first trip to Universal next year and wondering from the experts which is the better time to go. Weather is better in March, but crowds may be worse. Any guidance you can give me would be wonderful.

Thanks!

Taking our first trip to Universal next year and wondering from the experts which is the better time to go. Weather is better in March, but crowds may be worse. Any guidance you can give me would be wonderful.

Thanks!
I'm not a Universal expert, but I'd think March would bring Spring Break crowds. As much as I hate the heat, I'd go with August.

March will have much higher crowds and be more expensive (due to March Break). That being said, if you are willing to stay at a deluxe resort and have express pass, I would pick March because of the much better weather (i.e. not rediculously hot and typically no major daily downpours of rain).

We went in mid-Sept once and it was so hot. We stayed onsite so went back to the hotel each afternoon to hang by the pool, then back to the parks at night. I needed 2 sets of clothes per day. You do tend to get the afternoon showers also, but that doesn't bother us so much. It really is a crowd/potentially higher prices vs weather/lower price decision for you!

Yes, that is what I am struggling with. We normally go in August, but it is so HOT! We just went to WDW in March of this year and the weather was amazing. It didn't bother me as much to stand in the long lines because it wasn't so brutally hot. But the crowds were heavy and having never been to Universal, I am afraid the crowds will ruin it for us. I am willing to stay at a Deluxe hotel to get the express pass, but we love renting homes and having our own pool to lounge in.

I like staying onsite. The Universal hotels are so close to the parks. Some only a 10 min walk. And the Unlimited Express Pass you get staying at the 3 Premier resorts will spoil you!