Advice on Where to Stay

keirakaida

Earning My Ears
I have been saving and dreaming about taking my daughters to WDW. I went over 20 times as a child. I cannot believe how expensive it is. My dream is to stay at the cabins in Fort Wilderness, but I think it's over our budget. I just loved it there as a kid. My daughters are 3 and 7. We may have to wait until next summer. I am a teacher and don't have much wiggle room on dates. My question is- where can we stay that is fun for kids these ages, and most importantly, that are located where we will not need a rental car. I am looking forward to any advice to make this trip extra special.

In theory, you won't need a rental car anywhere. In practice, however, a rental car is great to have available. Well worth the extra money, IMHO.

I recommend a Moderate (CBR or POR, in my opinion) and a rental car.

I'm a teacher with two kids too..:laughing: 8 and 3 years old. We have never needed a car at Disney, the transportation system is great. I would try a moderate hotel( the pool slides, and fridges in room are great). Just go slowly and don't try to pack too much in for a first trip. Enjoy your time off from work:thumbsup2

We have stayed at a value an (All Star Sports) and Moderate (port orleans - french quarter). Although the value is fine, loved PO - FQ. Smallest of the Moderates and good food court, although no sit down. Pool was great. I suggest that one. We've also stayed at Old Key West twice and loved it. They run good specials on it all the time, so wait and see what discounts they have available for next summer.

I don't have kids, but I stayed at All Star Music last year and thought it would be a great place for kids! It's a value resort so it's one of the most affordable on-site hotels.