Any DVC pilots out there??

mb168

DIS Veteran
Please don't move this thread:D , I've already posted in the transportation forum...

I was just wondering if any of you have flown into Kissimee and thought maybe a DVC member that went more often has done this? I'm a private pilot and just got a plane and one of our intentions is to get to WDW faster, easier, and less stressed. My concern is how to get to and from the airport without costing an arm and a leg. I don't know what a taxi will run or if there is a shuttle service that operates there. Thanks

We fly private to WDW all the time. My husband is a private pilot and we have our own plane. We always fly into Kissimee for our trips. We have gone the taxi route and rented a car. Renting a car seems to work out better. It allows us to stop where ever we want on the way to WDW and gives us the freedom to come and go as we please. If you are looking for more specific info, feel free to email me and I'll have my DH answer your questions. Since 1984, we've flown to WDW every year at least once. I know he'll be happy to help.

mb168, I fly a business jet for a living (Citation Excel), and have flown into Kissimee several times lately. We take a cab ride to our hotel (which is very close to WDW), for about $25. Our company arranged this, so I'm not sure if this is a normal rate.
Landing runway 15 gives you a great veiw of WDW. Congratulations on buying an airplane! What did you buy?

Good luck........:cool:

Maistre Gracey, that seems about right for the cab ride. I was thinking we paid about $30. When we did take the cab, the FBO called for us so I'm not sure who they used at the time.

Maistre Gracey,
I completely "forgot" you were a pilot also. Sorry about that.:(