anyone shoot with the Nikon D7200, D500 or Fuji X-t3?

Meshell2002

DIS Veteran
I'm considering upgrading from my Nikon D5100. I'm a advanced beginner. I like to shoot my family, some travel, and children's sports (girls gymnastics & theatre right now). I work full time so I have no intention of shooting for money. This is purely for my own pleasure and fun. I really want a faster autofocus (11 points) and fps (4) than my d5100. I have a sigma 30 1.4 (old non art version) and a tamron 70-200 (non VC), in addition to the kit lens that came with my camera. I'm looking at the Nikon d7200, d500 and the Fujifilm X-t3. I lean towards the Nikon because I already have a few nikon lenses, but curious about the Fuji. Has anyone shot with the D500 and the Fuji? I love the 7200 price but not sure if I can use it for indoor sports. My son is also considering playing basketball (another poorly lit sport).

How about a D5100, D7200, D500 shooter who's also borrowed the X-T2 and X-T3? :)

Spoiler: don't get any of them.

Do you shoot raw or JPEG? Because if you shoot raw, you'll find the Fuji to be mostly lacking. Their X-Trans sensors are lovely for doing anything panchromatic, but fall down a bit in most raw converters. Heck, even Fuji's raw converter is worse than their in-camera JPEG rendering. Also, for indoor sports, both Nikons mop the floor with the Fuji for high speed AF indoors, which is about as snappy as the D5100's center point (not bad, but not DSLR level). You have to remember that the D7200's older AF module is still the same one out of the D4 professional sports camera still used today all over the world.

In terms of the D7200 vs D500, since I did that upgrade myself, here are the big differences in image quality:
  • At lower ISO with certain lenses the D7200 pulls a bit more detail, but the D500 is more consistent about pulling more detail from all lenses in all situations.