Blind at WDW

disneylady88

Earning My Ears
My parents will be joining my family and me to WDW in March. It's their first time back since '91 and I really want to make it special. My mom is legally blind and TBH I can tell she isnt exactly excited to go, but since shes a fantastic grandma shes taking one for the team, so to speak. Does anyone have experience with this or have any tips to make this a great trip for everyone?

I have had plenty of experiences.
Its all about the attitude.
If she chooses to not have fun because she cannot see something then there's not much you're gonna be able to do.
I suggest letting CM's at shows know that she is visually impaired and needs to sit close and they will direct you to the CM handling the front section and they will get you as close as possible.
I have found the best CM's at BATB.
Also be sure that someone is next to her to help her if she needs a hand to guide her through the parks, in winding queues, through crowds shuffling into the theaters, and getting into and out of ride vehicles.

I have no experience, but I recently discovered a woman named Joy Ross on Youtube, she has lost her sight due to an illness. She posts videos about her blindness, including going to Disney often and meeting characters,. Characters are really good at helping blind people 'seeing' their costumes etc.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxr1lfkVoNlWsrOFcVbMitA/search?query=disney

I do not know if the following is available at WDW, but when I visited Tokyo I had to go by Guest Services at some point. Behind the CMs there were some shelves with small scale models of several ride vehicles, the CM explained blind people can feel the scale model to see what the vehicles look like. Also there are scale models of certain buildings like the castle.
MK-Models-1.jpg

TDS-Models-1.jpg

Last edited: