"Booking Fees"

bfamily5

DIS Veteran
Hey all! I have been doing my own air and package bookings since 2009, when the T/A we were working with was learning all kinds of new info from me :rotfl: I won a radio prize that consists of $1200 in gift cards from an agency here in NB. So I figured that would cover our airfare if I can snag a deal on SW out of PWM :surfweb: I went to our local agency, set a file up with copies of the passports and exchanged contact info until I find the deal and give my agent the go. Now she tells me there is a booking fee..... like ..what? :furious: almost $100 to book all 5 of us...is this common practice? I had considered "going back" to an agency but this really puts me off..

Unfortunately the majority of airlines do not pay commission so a number of agencies do charge a booking fee when it comes to air or else they would be working for free. If they are doing the service for free then they would not be able to pay salaries, taxes, rent, electricity, you know all that fun stuff that comes with running a business :)

Congratulations on winning your prize by the way.

Can you book the flights yourself to avoid the booking fees and get the TA to book the rest of the trip? The TA won't charge you for booking hotel, park tickets or rental car, for example. :confused3

Can you book the flights yourself to avoid the booking fees and get the TA to book the rest of the trip? The TA won't charge you for booking hotel, park tickets or rental car, for example. :confused3

I may do that - it was just more convenient to hand over the gift cards and keep the airfare "separate". I understand about overhead, etc, but really I am not having her do any work. I am doing all the price comparisons and research...she will just be making an online booking which takes all of 10 minutes... Just wasn't sure if this was normal industry practice.