Booking thru DCL vs Travel agent for FL Res Rate?

Bonnie1222

DIS Veteran
I am curious. I am a Florida resident and I can book DCL Florida Resident rate directly with DCL. I have read on threads here that a lot book with travel agents or Discount clubs like Costco.

We have cruised with Disney using DVC points, and DH and I were gifted a cruise for out 25th anniversary that DH's mom booked and paid for with her TA.

Can I book and get the FLRR if I book it with my TA? Is there a benefit of doing this rather than dealing directly with Disney? Do you get something different? And if I book with my TA, can I still get the Disney Chase benefit of 6 month free financing?

I can tell you we transferred our onboard booking rate to the FL resident rates that were released for our upcoming sailing, all through our TA! We went from an inside standard to a verandah for $7! :teeth:
She just needed a scanned copy of one Driver's License for proof of residency. Our TA offers a $100 onboard credit, so that's definitely a plus. TA's also offer services such as processing payments, reserving extras like Palo/Remy, in-room gifts, and more for you. They're also your one-on-one contact rather than calling DCL.

Not positive about the Disney Chase question - I'm sure it still applies, since it's not a double-discounting your cruise fare. It's a deal from Disney Chase rather than DCL so you should be good!

A TA should be able to book any rate available to the general public -- including FLR, MTO, *GT.

As to benefits over booking direct through DCL -- some TA's offer "perks" to their clients. It might be an onboard credit, a basket of goodies, photo package, bottle of wine, etc. you'd need to ask your TA what is offered.