Can no longer preview thread by holding cursor over title.

Discussion in 'New Board Issues' started by patty57, Feb 7, 2017.

  1. patty57

    patty57 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,137
    Up until a couple of days ago, I could put my cursor over a thread title and get a preview of what the thread was about. This isn't working any longer. I believe the DIS did some updates prior to this? Anyone have any suggestions in non-technical speak?
    Thanks.
     
  2. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11,285
    I'm having the same issue. It makes the board much less user friendly.

    ETA: I just started having this problem yesterday. The boards were working normally for me until then.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2017
  3. Avatar

    Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  4. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11,285
    Thread preview is working for me again as of a day or so ago. I don't know what changed (DISboards? a Windows 10 update? something specific to my laptop?) but I'm very glad that this feature is working again.

    OP: Is the thread preview feature working for you?
     
  5. patty57

    patty57 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,137
    No, it still doesn't work for me. It hasn't worked since my original post about it. I wish it did. Glad it works for you.
     
  6. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11,285
    I'm sorry to hear it's not working for you. That prompted me to do some testing with different browsers. It works for me when using Firefox but I just tried Chrome and Microsoft Edge and it still does not work for me with either of those browsers.

    Thread preview works on my DH's laptop (also running Windows 10) but he uses different antivirus software so he thought it might have something to do with that. I have Malwarebytes running on my laptop so I'm curious if you do as well.
     
  7. PrincessShmoo

    PrincessShmoo DIS veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    39,488
    Works for me on Chrome (Windows 7). Always has.
     
  8. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11,285
    Thanks for the info. It was working for me too until one day back in March when it just stopped working. Very annoying! The only major change I made to my system prior to that was an upgrade from the free version to the paid version of Malwarebytes but that happened in early February, over a month before this feature stopped working. But then again, maybe I changed some settings in that product or some other software that I use in mid March that I've forgotten about.
     
  9. PrincessShmoo

    PrincessShmoo DIS veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    39,488
    I can't really help you (not really very tech-y), but I was just reporting that I've got no issues with Chrome/Windows 7. Is Malwarebytes an anti-virus program? I've got Norton on my computer. And I use AdBlockerPlus on DISboards.
     
  10. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11,285
    Googling about this issue turned up a thread in another forum out on the Internet where someone is reporting this same problem with thread preview no longer working as of early March 2017. One of the responses stated that this is a problem with the software used to run that particular forum, which happens to be Xenforo, the same software the DISboards use. The forum software is treating any device that identifies itself as having a touchscreen as if it is a tablet or phone, devices that don't support the "hover" event which is the event that triggers the thread preview. They didn't discuss why it stopped working so perhaps Xenforo released an update around that time that created this problem.

    My laptop has a touchscreen so maybe that's why I've had this problem since that same time (early March 2017). And perhaps Xenforo released a fix for this issue recently, making it work for me again on Firefox at least. From what I read, I got the impression that the browser plays a role in identifying whether or not the device has a touchscreen so perhaps that is why the particular browser can also be a factor in whether or not someone has this problem. Apparently there used to be some settings you could change in Chrome that fixed this problem but those settings were experimental and have been removed.
     
  11. patty57

    patty57 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,137
    I use webroot antivirus and chrome. I had this happen once before and someone here posted a fix. I tried that and it worked for awhile.
     
  12. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11,285
    Yes, Malwarebytes is an anti-malware program. My DH was thinking maybe it's preventing the forum software from running the Javascript code that thread preview needs to run.
     
  13. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11,285
    Are you using a device with a touchscreen?
     
  14. patty57

    patty57 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,137
    Yes Windows 10 on my laptop which I never use. Meaning I dont use the touchscreen.
     
  15. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11,285
    My Firefox browser updated itself a couple of days ago (to version 55.0.1) so maybe they changed something in this release that fixed this problem. For example, maybe when they detect a touchscreen, they look a little closer at the device information and use different settings for laptops with touchscreens vs tablets and phones. That could explain why some other websites I use where I lost some features (that have nothing to do with web forums) around the same time are now working properly again.
     
  16. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11,285
    It's broken again today... :sad1:

    I got a Firefox update last night (from Version 55.0.1 to 55.0.2) just before I shut my system down for the night so I suspect they "fixed" whatever they did in Version 55.0.1 that had allowed thread preview to work again.
     

Share This Page