Destination Race Ideas

*DisneyDreamer

DIS Veteran
Hey all,

I am posting this thread to get ideas from all of you on destination races that are worth traveling for. In particular, I am looking for races held in the summer (mid-June to mid-August ideally) as I am a teacher and summer vacation is my most flexible time to travel. It would be great to find an option that could lend itself to taking the trip to run the race at the beginning, and then staying for sightseeing/touring.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

I really want to do Napa to Sonoma but I agree on holding off because of fires.

I also want to do a Ragnar relay but that requires a whole group.

I'd also throw in Wineglass Marathon and Half Marathon in Corning, NY. The course is beautiful with a lot of fall foliage and it's easy to then spend some time in the Finger Lakes if you want wine.

And if you're ever travelling international @FFigawi introduced me to the idea of the Marathon Du Medoc which I definitely want to do one day.

Thanks for the suggestions everyone! So many great sounding races. Unfortunately there don't seem to be quite as many over the summer. It's times like these where I wish I had more flexibility with my job to try some of these out.

I second Vacation Races.

The Rome marathon is my top of the list marathon. I look more at places I want to visit and then find a run there if possible. I think you'll find a lot less options in the summer months unless you look north due to the timing of marathons and halves. When I travel in the summer I may have to settle more for a 5K or 10K. If you have any spring or fall breaks you may want to look at races then. A fall race in New England, preferably near Acadia National Park, is high on my list so I can see fall colors and have cooler weather.

I second Vacation Races.