Disney the week of 12/22-12/28

gulliesmom

Mouseketeer
OK, give it to me straight. Are we crazy to do Disney at this time? I REALLY want to be there for the beauty and magic of the holiday season and we are considering spending Christmas there next year. I have been in touch with a "Disney Planner" and she is asking if I am aware of how intense the crowds are and warning me that the parks usually close to capacity by 10 am :( Is this a reality?

I’m a travel agent that specializes in Disney clientele. If I had a client approaching me at this late date, I’d very nicely try to suggest a different date for your travel. Unless you’ve been to Wdw bunches of time and know that you’re spending top dollar to go and spend the majority of your trip in line, I think there are better times to go. Like early December next year or mid November when the decorations are up but the lines are not.

To be fair, parks haven’t closed at phase 4 in years. So no, they don’t close to capacity by 10 if you are onsite with tickets using Disney transportation.

Thanks for your reply. We would go at a different time but at this point it is too hard to pull the kids from school. We will be staying on site at the Grand Floridian.

We are going to be there this year over the Christmas holidays. We are going in understanding that the parks will be extremely crowded. We booked our room over six months ago and have had our dining/fastpass plans locked for a few weeks now. I've never been to Disney over the holidays before, but I would never try to plan a holiday trip on this short of notice. We anticipate that our rope drop rides and fastpasses might be the only attractions that we do on this trip - and that is OK with us. If this is a 'once in a lifetime' trip, or even a 'once every 2-3 years' trip - I would recommend selecting different dates or to start planning for Holidays 2018 now.