Driving To Disney From Long Island

rserp

Earning My Ears
Going to Disney and Vero in August, was just wondering if anybody has driven from Long Island, how the driving trip was, what stops you made and what directions you used.

You taking the NJ TPK to the DE Memorial Bridge or hopping over to I-95 above Trenton ?
Only advice is to try and hit DE after 7:00 pm otherwise traffic is horrendous until you get below Richmond Va. Once outside of Va the trip is great.

Which way is the best, as this is my first time driving?

Thanks for your help

I would jump over to I-95. Last toll at end of TPK can be a nightmare,plus once your over the DE bridge you have to get on 95 anyway.

We have made this drive numerous times. We usually take the Verrazano to the Outer bridge to 95 south all the way. We would leave at around 6:30 pm after I got off work in Westbury, and pull into Orlando between 10 a.m. and 1 pm the next day. 15 and a half hours from Westbury was our best time, but usually would average around 17 hours. If you don't have EZ pass, I would strongly reccomend it. It works all the way through Maryland. You can get 660 WFAN all the way down to the top of South carolina, and ESPN radio all the way down, just have to switch the station a few times. We fly about 90% of the time, but on short notice trips over school holidays, we wind up driving because of sold out flights. This past Feb, around 2 A.M. ESPN radio was broadcasting live from the ESPN at the BW. It was pretty cool. On the way back, we usually stop overnight in Southern VA. Good Luck!

I don't know because I've never done it :) but just wanted to say Hi to my fellow Long Islanders :wave: