Dry Steam / Vapor Cleaner User Thread

peabody58

I'm just a drummer in a R&R Band!!
A good quality Dry Steam Cleaner (super-heated steam ~5% moisture) is certainly not an inexpensive item, but with the potential health benefits, time savings and pursuit of a ‘greener’ cleaning experience, these Steam Cleaner machines could be considered by some a budget saving device. Dry Steam Cleaning is being used by most industrial businesses (house cleaners, restaurants, hospitality, assisted living, car detailing, travel, etc., etc.) with great results. Although Dry Steam Cleaners have been around for a long time, the use in residential settings is only now really ramping up.

I’m starting this thread because we recently had a presentation of a high-end Dry Steamer system and we were quite impressed. Our stove top was cleaned in minutes vs. ‘many hours using chemicals and lots of scrubbing’. Our shower stall clear doors and tracks are spotless and look almost new. Grout lines on our tile are amazingly bright.

DW said she now wants a Dry Steamer, and I said I’d look into it. The high-end demonstration model at a discounted price of $2,500 was a bit steep for me, and I wanted to do some research first.

After a few days of on-line research I discovered these key points:
- Prices can range from $400 to $2,800 plus and higher in the Commercial range.
- Most brands make excellent units from entry level residential models to high end Commercial models.
- The higher the temperature/pressure available is better as it will clean faster. 70 psi and up is getting into low-end Commercial units.
- Boiler Auto refill capability is preferred if you plan on cleaning for > 90 minutes at a time.
- Units with pressure control are beneficial to one-pressure units (usually low end).
- Most of the dry steamers are from Italy.
- All brands are selling like hot cakes due to the Covid pandemic and the need to clean a lot of areas. Restocking is out into November for a lot of units.