• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

DVC member card

ShuisFan584

<font color=red>Bowler & <font color=blue>Softball
I'm still new to this whole DVC thing so I'm sorry I still have some silly questions. We just went on our first DVC trip this August. We loved it so much that my sister and I are planning on going again in January and May, without our parents. The thing is, my parents are the one's whose names are on the contract, and my sister and I are just the "immediate family living in the same household." So both my parents have a DVC card with their names on it, but my sister and I don't. So my question is, can I bring my mom's DVC card with me and show my ID as well to get the discounts on meals or anything else you can get discounts on? I don't want to get anyone mad if this is not allowed, I just really don't know. It's ok if I can't, it would just be nice to get discounts, and I don't want to look silly trying to use her card if I can't.

By the way, would it be hard to make the reservation? I'm assuming my mom would just call and make the reservations, and put it under mine or my sister's name instead of hers, and there wouldn't be any problems. Or is it going to be complicated considering we don't have our own DVC card? Would she have to like rent the points out to us or something?

I don't know the official answer to your first question. If I had to guess, I'd say that you & your sister are not entitled to the discounts that require the blue member card because you are not members - your parents are. Some of the discounts can be obtained just by showing your room ID, though. Since you are staying on points, your room IDs will say "DVC Member" on them