Eeeeeeeeek - looks like being May 2011, not September 2011

glara

Earning My Ears
Don't know if I am excited we're planning on going sooner, or terrified that it's only a year away - got to work on saving those pennies!

I am an inbound travel consultant and September next year was always going to be a hard sell for my bosses, as it's when the Rugby World Cup hits our shores.

Anyone been in May and can tell me what it's like crowd wise...? Guessing earlier that month would be better!

glara - I've just come back from the World and was there from 4 - 14 May. There is also at least one other Aussie, who was there at the time and into the latter part of May, that is active on the Dis and she should be back (or will be back shortly). I expect that she may well provide her insight as well.

Early May is traditionally a good time to go; as it is after the US Spring break and the Flower and Garden Show is on. It is also a time where the weather is "in-between" the dry and wet season.

The touring guides indicates that early May should have crowd levels betwen 4 - 6; which means that ride queues are meant to be 10 - 20 minutes; with the more popular rides around 30 - 40 minutes.

For the 2 weeks that I was there in May 2010 it was HOT (all 10 days were 87 - 94 F), HUMID and CROWDED (by mid afternoon, if you didn't have a fastpass for the popular rides, the stand-by times were out to 55 - 90 minutes). The crowd levels certainly weren't what the tourguides were predicting!

Our strategy was to hit the parks early in the morning (we got to the parks before 9.30 am most days) and we found the ride wait times to be 10 minutes. In the mornings, we could do a popular ride 2 or 3 times in a row and pick up fast passes for the other popular rides for later on.

We would then depart the parks at about 2 pm (at least I did; and sometimes hubby and son would stay back) and go back to the hotel. We would collect more fast passes before we left.