"Free Dining" rules

mitchinson

Mouseketeer
I will be staying at a moderate resort soon and have the
option of "free dining". I have never used a Dining Plan before.
Please tell me everything you know about "free dining".
Restrictions and perks.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner?
Credits? Would like to do Ohana. 1 or 2 credits?
ADR'S?
Refillable mug...OOP?
Maybe you could direct me to a site that explains?
Thanks

Ok here is what I know and I'm NOT an expert ;) For the basic DDP not QSDP:
You get 1 CS (counter service)--think quick type meals-hamburgers, hotdogs, salads, etc
1 TS (table service)- think sit down meals
1 Snack-lots to choose from...I'm sure there is a link somewhere but like I said I'm NOT an expert. I think that WDW website should have a list for you.
You get each of the above per person per day. If there is 2 people in your party and you are there for 7 days each person gets 7 cs, 7 ts, 7 snacks. These are your credits to use even if you do not go to parks each of the 7 days. You can use them however you wish--if you want a sit down meal for breakfast then you can use the TS for that. If you want a sit down meal for lunch you can use it as that...just remember when the credits are gone they are gone.
I am not sure what the deal is with mugs--we never use them.
I am not sure about what places take 1 credit vs 2 credits.
I would strongly recommend ADRs--especially if you are going during free dining.
Some people are very against the dining plan--it doesn't work out for them and their family. We personally LOVE the dining plan..and we take advantage of the free dining. It is a personal choice..everyone is different.
I hope this answered some of your questions. If you have any additional ones feel free to ask!

I will be staying at a moderate resort soon and have the
option of "free dining". I have never used a Dining Plan before.
Please tell me everything you know about "free dining".
Restrictions and perks.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner?