Generic Motion Sickness medicine?

Meclizine is the generic name for AntiVert -- which is usually used to combat dizziness or that spinning sensation people get with either vertigo or just an ear infection. Before I got sick, I thought vertigo had more to do with heights. Nope, caught my reflection in the computer monitor one day and saw my head drooping to the side. When I tried to sit up straight, I felt like I was going to be sick. That was when I first went to the doctor.

They ran all kinds of tests on me and scared me to death telling me I might be epileptic, I might have a brain tumor, or I might just have vertigo. Well, luckily it was just the vertigo -- spinning sensation. I had had it for so long, I couldn't even verbalize that I felt dizzy -- just that I felt funny and it wasn't good.

Doc prescribed meclizine. I am a reference librarian by nature, so I did the nerdly thing and looked up Meclizine in the PDR (Physician's Desk Reference) that most doctors keep handy to reference side effects and what drugs not to mix, etc.

The PDR mentioned the antihistamine effect and that sometimes meclizine could be prescribed for headaches and _anxiety_. That was when I noticed the "chill" effect -- it took the edge of everything -- especially my appetite. Went from a size 8 to a 2 in about 2.5 months with no appetite. Don't worry -- I am back up to a very healthy 8 again. Well, stress affects headaches. Allergies affect headaches. So it isn't any wonder that I felt some relief from my headaches on meclizine even though it wasn't prescribed for that.

Meclizine can be bought over the counter in the US in a non-prescription dosage (12mg I think). The name brand version is called Bonine and can be found with the Dramamine products in your pharmacy (probably there in Canada as well).