Hard Rock or Royal Pacific

sandam1

DIS Veteran
My friend and I are going to be at Universal in just under two weeks for our Dorian-rescheduled trip. Two adults, four nights with the first night currently scheduled for RP (standard room) before moving to Cabana Bay for 3 nights. However, I noticed that I could get a standard room at Hard Rock for $25 more.

We are arriving mid-day (probably getting to the parks around 2ish) and there are HHN that evening, which we will not be attending. My thought is that we will probably start out on the Studios side on our arrival day and do early entry at Studios the next morning so I'm wondering if the proximity just might make it worth it.

Thoughts? Pros/cons of either? We've never stayed at an EP hotel before so I have NO experience with either.

If 25 dollars is not a big deal to you, I'd book the Hard Rock instead of Royal. While the walk from Royal is not that long, it's end is closer to Islands, and definitely the walk to the Studios from Hard Rock is closer, even closer than the boat let off at City Walk. Nice hotels either way, and since Hard Rock has the least number of rooms, you shouldn't be too far from the walking path and boat launch. And just to say how much smaller, the boat launch at Royal is about twice the size of Hard Rock's one. I'd do it. I paid almost that amount ($24) for a 5 night stay at the Portofino last month, rather than Royal, as my adult kid and I like the Portofino more than Royal, but we have no issues staying at Royal if that spread in money was more, and usually Hard Rock is more (due to less number of rooms). I'll be at the Royal in a couple of weeks. Was the lowest priced of all 3, and I'm staying a week.

Whatever you decide, have fun. And I only do HHN one night.