Help! Staying offsite for the first time. Looking for tips and tricks.

amberdc1987

To Infinity and Beyond!!
I am planning a trip for Dec 7-14, 2019. We have been many times before and I’m a pro at planning trips where we have stayed onsite. But this time there are 13 of us going, so to save a bit of knee we are just getting a house offsite.

I am looking for any help, tips, tricks or information about staying offsite and getting to the parks. We will have 8 adults and 5 kids with us. 2 of the adults will be pass holders.

Any help would be much appreciated.

You need to decide are you going out for meals or cooking at the house or a combination. I would stay were it's easy to go to restaurants if you are going to eat out more. If you're cooking more than make sure it's easy access to a grocery store.

I wouldn't do more than a half hour commute to the parks.

Determine if you are going to stick together all the time or break up into two or three smaller groups for the parks. Make this decision before your 30 day mark comes for FPs. You need to decide if you can all get up at the same time and leave together to the parks. You can have meeting times in the parks if you split up for part of the day.

I would eat a meal in the park to avoid any additional commuting and have a longer day in the parks. It doesn't have to be a table service meal.

Make sure everyone agrees to the bedding arrangements. You don't want complications once you get there.

Try to get an understanding of the distribution of any work involved.

Last edited:

You need to decide are you going out for meals or cooking at the house or a combination. I would stay were it's easy to go to restaurants if you are going to eat out more. If you're cooking more than make sure it's easy access to a grocery store.

I wouldn't do more than a half hour commute to the parks.