How bad is the wait time for Kilimanjaro Safaris around 8:00 pm?

maryj11

DIS Veteran
I'm trying to decide on if we should use our fastpass for it or Rivers of Light.
How bad is the wait time around 8:00 pm?

Unless it's changed from last summer, at 8pm, it's literally a walk on. The buses will be sitting there waiting for guests to arrive.
We did go last year at the end of June and it was a walk on around 8:00 so we changed our FP to something else. So yeah I was wondering if has been the same.

You really only need a FP for Safari from around 11 AM to 5 PM.

At 8 it should be walk on. It may say 20 minutes but that is just the time it will take you to walk through the queue and board the bus.

I booked FP's for 7:30pm just because I have never done it before at night. Maybe I need to rethink that decision. ;););)

Not long at all. Even lower when it's dark out because you can't see anything so I think many realize it's not worth riding in the dark.

This! The animals like laying out in the hot sun so as it starts going down and temperatures slightly drop, animals are more scarce. I love that ride so I tried to cheat the system myself and did this to get another ride in. Nope...I think I saw a crow. :(

We did safari at 8:45 last Friday. We waited about 20 minutes with a FP, because they only were running one side.

However, it was a really fun safari. We were stopped for a while due to a group of springbok chasing each other, which was adorable. We also had a bunch of wildebeests crossing right in front of us. And, three of the lions were up and moving around, in addition to hyenas, giraffes, and hippos. We weren't expecting to see much, but it ended up being a good safari after all.