How Closely Do You Monitor Your 401k / Retirement

disneychrista

DIS Veteran
I am new to the saving for retirement / 401k (457b in my case) thing. Just curious how closely do you monitor it? How frequently do you make changes to the distribution?

I have never put money into a retirement account because the idea that the money could not be there when I need it scares me. I have started putting money into my company's deferred comp (457b) plan and I am finding that I am checking it at least one per week. I completely understand that there will be ups & downs and am trying to NOT to panic too much.

I check mine monthly. I have a quarter of my retirement in a low interest savings account, but I will be 61 soon and cannot afford to lose it all in a crash like 2008.

I monitor it weekly. I sell if my investment drops below the 300 day ma. And I buy as long as it’s above.

DH was in charge of our 401k which he started back in the mid 90's as his job's pension wasn't going to be that great. I think he started looking at it more often as our retirement ages approached.

Me, the little bit of investing I did (being a substitute teacher) was pretty much CDs and then on to bonds and a few stocks. I have a new MM at my financial institute in which I follow monthly just for the fun of it. It is fun to watch $$ do its thing. :teeth:

I generally just look at the quarterly statements. Sometimes I look a little closer, but I don't spend a lot of time on it. I have mine in several index funds and another diversified fund. Technically, it's managed by a company so I'm not buying and selling individual stocks on my own.

You need to select a risk profile you are comfortable with, put your money in, and don't forget about it, but let it work for you. Try to not get freaked up by the daily erratic moves of the stock market or you will go crazy.