Independence of the Seas/Symphony of the Seas? Opinions please!

janiebubble

DIS Veteran
We've only cruised Disney -we went for the Disney ... we loved the cruising! We live in England so a Disney cruise was a cheap(er) way of getting a proper Disney fix (no transatlantic flights to contend with!).

We've now done 4 cruises ... 7 night Mediterranean from Barcelona, 4 night Mediterranean (Just Spanish islands actually) from Barcelona, 7 night Dover to Barcelona and most recently this year 7 night Northern Europe. I'm a school teacher so have limited holidays ...

next summer all we could do on Disney within our price bracket is a 5 night Mediterranean which would take us to ports we've seen before. I really, really wanted to do Norway, but there isn't one next summer on Disney which fits in with the times I can take my annual leave.

so I'm left with three choices ... the 5 night Med on Disney, 8 nights on Independence of the Seas to Norway, or 7 nights Med on the Symphony of the Seas.

Which would you do? They're all approximately the same cost - Independence is slightly cheaper (about $250 in total for the two of us. We have no kids, but we're not into formal/stuffy - don't really want to dress up for dinner etc and we want to be entertained!

My big hesitation re Independence is the cabins ... we're looking at inside (we've travelled in a 10C for 3 out of our 4 Disney (the other was a 9B) and I'm worried they're really small and look really tired and grotty (and turquoise!) but I'm aware there is a drydock next spring.

Symphony would give me really new cabins (although still small)!

I know both ships are bigger than the Magic, I know I'll miss the drinks station (I'm a diet coke addict so I know I'm paying $10 a night for soda) on the Magic we love deck 4 and just sitting watching the sea (but also walking the jogging track) - I'm assuming we'd find something similar?

So, I think the question is really ship or itinerary? Any thoughts?