JiminyKrikkit WISH Journal

jiminykrikkit

DIS Veteran
Hi everyone! I'm new to WISH and ready to get to know everyone. I've recently started Weight Watchers for the maybe 4th time in my life. I do a lot better at stuff like this when I share with others, so I thought a WISH journal might be the place for that.

About me!
  • My name is Kristan
  • I'm 32 years old
  • wife to my high-school sweetheart prom date for almost 8 years (we've been together 15!)
  • momma to our only child...he is about to turn 5!
  • Of course, LOVE Disney. I also love to be creative through art and sewing (I own an online fabric shop!).

me.jpg
The first time I did WW, I hit my goal (I had 25 lbs to lose) and felt better than I ever had. I didn't stick with it and over the years the weight crept back on. I was the heaviest I ever was the day I found out I was pregnant with DS. Luckily the pregnancy weight came off easily (I somehow only gained 20 lbs), but I have struggled to get below where I was before I became pregnant.

The last year or so, I've been pretty lax about food. I tried different things (Whole30 and Paleo, low carb, My Fitness Pal calorie counting, etc etc) but nothing stuck. I just wasn't into it. My weight seemed to level out at about 30 lbs more than I wanted to be. Then I gained a few more pounds and went into the next bracket, and only a few tenths of a point from being considered obese on the BMI chart.

SIDE NOTE
What is up with BMI charts? I guess they don't account for muscle mass. I've always had a lot of muscle (of course I don't look it because I have a lot of fat too). I've always been heavy, even when I was wearing a women's US size 4 and size small t-shirt, I was hovering on the line between normal and overweight. I currently wear a women's US size 10 and size medium t-shirt, but here I am, about to be considered obese. But I digress.

Goals!
  • Ideally I'd like to lose a total of 35 lbs. Realistically I think I'm okay with 25 lbs.