Me and The Teenagers: Our First Trip Together

kristenrice

NOT just an ambulance driver
I have been planning this trip for a while so I figure it is about time that I started my "journal"...known as a "pre-trip report" here on the DIS:flower3:...

Quick backstory...

In 2008, we bought into DVC with our home resort at AKV when our girls were 2 and 4 years old. Since then, they have been to WDW 8 times. Each trip was 5-7 days in length, sometimes just the 4 of us and sometimes we took my parents and a couple times, we brought my siblings and their kids too. In 2011, we took our first trip to HHI and we've been there two more times since then. We also added on a small HHI contract so that we could visit every three years for spring break. Other than our DVC vacations, we don't really travel, simply due to our work schedules. DH has been a police officer for 28 years (retiring next year!!) and I have been a full-time paramedic for 20 years. We don't take a lot of vacations, but we try and make the most of them when we do finally have down time.

After our most recent family trip to WDW which was in October 2016, DH decided that he is "Disney'd out". The parks have lost their appeal and he just does not enjoy all of the "go, go, go" any more. He REALLY enjoyed our trip to HHI in April 2017 so we are not looking to give up on DVC entirely. On the last trip, the girls developed a new appreciation of Epcot. Their tastes are maturing and they really appreciated the events that were offered at the Food and Wine festival. My younger daughter, who was only 11 at the time, even took part in a culinary demo and went to the Parisian luncheon...and wants to do it again!