Miles and miles or running now going for WLS

tinkerbell of winter

Keep Moving Forward-Walt Disney
Hello everyone! Support, comments, encouragement and advice all welcomed!

My name is Christine, I am 38 and have been overweight/obese basically all of my adult life. I work as a Nurse Practitioner and formerly worked as a Registered Nurse in intensive care and surgery. I am obese not for lack or trying to lose weight, but more for inability to keep it off. I know we all share that struggle, at least those of us that have lived life with obesity. To be perfectly honest I used to be one of those people that considered weight loss surgery (WLS) the easy way out. Just recently after some further research I now know that is not the truth. And another thing I know is that as hard as you try to lose weight on a diet once that diet or lifestyle change slows down the weight comes back on. Life happens, you get busy, you hit bumps in the road, you forget to care for yourself because you are caring for others and bam, all of a sudden you are 140 pounds overweight. I have always tried to be active, but I have also ALWAYS struggled with my weight. Always feeling hungry, because of that darn grehlin hormone! I have trained and run multiple races, 5, 10, 15 Ks and four 1/2 marathons. I can hang with the best of them at Disney, starting at 7 AM and lasting well past midnight, without a nap, without a rest, I just keep going. Yet I am still obese. My mother once said with the amount of running around I do I should be skinny. Which actually now makes sense to me. If I had a normal metabolism and normal body composition sure, but life happened and bam i'm sitting here with a BMI of 42. Weighing 275 pounds in January, I have lost about 5 pounds but honestly I haven't been trying that hard, having been in a bit of a funk.