Need to stay onsite if you have a 5-day pass?

maggiew

DIS Veteran
I purchased the 5 day Kraft deal passes. We have never been to Universal/IOA before. Right now I have reservations at Portofino Bay Hotel for 4 nights (Aug. 16 - 20). I thought staying onsite would be great for the FOTL access but now I am wondering if it would be necessary if you plan to do the parks for 5 days? I am just beginning to feel guilty about the $155 per night price tag! We can afford it and have budgeted for it, but I have never spent that much per night before.

Could we do it all in the 5 days without killing outselves? I was planning on spending some time each afternoon at the pool.

We would also need to get a rental car or stay someplace that has a good shuttle.

My kids are 9 and 12.

We will be staying a week at Disney at Pop Century before our Universal Stay.

Maggie

Stay onsite - you will love it. If you got Portofino Bay for $155 per night, you got a deal. PB is lovely. Your children will love the pools (especially the Beach Pool). The whole experience of staying onsite, walking to the parks and Citywalk and FOTL (even with the five day pass) are the makings of a perfect vacation. We always rent a car because we like to go exploring. We go over to Downtown Disney, the Mall at Millenia, etc. However, if you just want to stay right at Universal, you will not need a car.

Again, stay at Portofino Bay. You won't regret it!

Have fun!

Stay onsite. We went lasty earin July with the 5 day passes, staying off-site. The lines were horrible, 5 days or not. Luckily, the hotel lost our reservations after the 1st night and we went to Royal Pacific-that made our trip-what a difference. Stay on-site at least for a couple days if it is in your budget. My son loved Portifino when we went there to swim. We are staying onsite this year also-even if it isn't in our budget.:D