Not Always Hopeless

SirDuff

DIS Veteran
I think someone here was the one who first altered me to the site, but there is a site (Not Always Right) where customer service people (mainly) post stories about...umm...memorable customers. However, that same site also has a section called "Not Always Hopeless" about customers/service providers who are memorable for a good reason. I sometimes find them annoyingly "tooting one's one horn", but his one actually did bring tears (which, since I was on an airplane, also brought questions from seatmates - who also loved the story).

https://notalwaysright.com/hopeless/ (I cannot link the specific story - That Is 'Pretty' Awesome)

(I am a photographer running a studio in the inner city. We are well known for our children’s portraits, and we range from high-end portraits for modelling jobs to fun sibling photos and birth announcements. We do a bit of everything; as such, we are extremely busy, and it states on our website that we do not accept walk-ins. We are usually booked up six months in advance. One day, ten minutes before closing, a mum walks in with a young girl around six or seven behind her. I internally groan.)

Mother: “Hello. I know you’re closing soon, but I have a special favour to ask.”

(At this point the little girl peeks around her mother’s legs and I’m lost for words. Under her thick winter coat and hat, she is skeletally thin with huge dark circles under her eyes. From what I can tell, she has no hair, and a tube taped to her cheek that feeds into her nose. It is immediately clear this kid is very, very sick.)

Mother: *near tears* “My daughter saw one of your photos taped to the wall at the hospital. She REALLY loves unicorns and the photo had a girl photo-shopped onto a horse. I know you’re booked up, and it’s months before the next appointment, but…”