not sure if resort matters more than use year?

daisyx3

DIS Veteran
We have 160 SSR points we bought in 2008. August use year. We don't hate SSR, but have only stayed there twice and like other places like BWV, BLT, Poly.
I have never had any issues booking the other resorts 7 months out except I had to waitlist our Poly stay last year to get the lagoon view. It came through pretty quickly. I am a teacher so it is March, April, or summer.
I have been idly looking at resales but it seems my use year is a rare one or it is in a resort I don't care about. After our trip last week with grandchild #1 (#2 on the way) I realize I want to shore up our points (next trip is a big family one needing at least a 2BR in 2021). We usually take one big trip a year because we fly, and mostly it is just DH and I in a studio. When I retire in 2022 or 2023 hopefully we will be moving further south and can use it more.
So...should I stay hyperfocused on use year? And should I save $ and add to SSR points or try to get some BLT/Poly points with the same use year?

I see plenty of August use year for SSR, how many points you looking for? Smaller contracts 100 and under don’t come up much, when they do, you need to be looking several times a day and grab it fast, they also cost more per point usually.

I also find quite a few Aug UY SSR contracts. Just depends on the number of points your thinking of.

If you keep the same use year you will only have one membership number (meaning you will not need to transfer points from one account to another). This could be a big advantage. The resort simply sets your 11 month window. So if you have them at two different resorts you won’t be able to use all the points in on trip at the 7 month mark. That could also be an issue depending on how you plan to use your points. Though if you have enough you can always bank/borrow for one resort anyway.