PTR 10/31/2020-11/7/2020

mkmomto2

Mouseketeer
Pre-trip Report 10/31-11/7

Oh my goodness, this trip has already changed so much! But first, let me introduce myself:

My name is Stacy and I am a special education teacher from Delaware.

I liked Disney from when I was young, but did not get “bitten by the Disney bug” until 1997 when I traveled to Disney World with my sister, her family and my daughter, who was 3 ½ at the time. We stayed in a cabin at the Fort Wilderness Campground. I was 6 months pregnant and this was before cell phones were a common item. I remember one morning at Magic Kingdom, my sister and brother in law took their two oldest on some of the bigger rides and I kept their youngest (newly 3yo) and my daughter and ran all over Fantasyland- it was THE BEST TIME! That is until the rest of my family angrily found us on the Carousel and informed me that I had missed our meetup by a half an hour! LOL whoops!

So, this trip has morphed as a lot of yours have quite a bit. It was always scheduled for this time period at POP (I cut it down by one day, but mostly the dates haven’t changed). However, the people have! Originally, I was scheduled to go with my daughter, grandson and daughter’s boyfriend. When COVID happened, we decided that it was not the best time to take my grandson (4yo) as we weren’t sure if he would have trouble wearing the mask the whole day (he has been wearing it in school, but the decision was made prior to that). We pushed our trip to spring break and booked a package so that we could make park reservations, hoping that some of the restrictions will be lifted by then.

I still wanted to go experience Disney World during this time though and my sister-in-law who has some mild delays (she holds down a job, drives, etc. but can’t live on her own) had expressed an interest in going, so when we finalized her retirement in July, we decided that she and I would go for a girl’s trip!