shore excursion question, new to Royal

DrDoodle

Earning My Ears
I'm new to Royal Caribbean. We are looking to book a shore excursion through the website, it appears that we must pay in full up front. What is the cancelation policy? I can't find it on their site at all. This cruise is still very far away, I wouldn't want to lose all that money if we cancel for some reason.

In case it helps. we have 2 upcoming royal cruises, first in february 2016 a southern caribbean out of puerto rico, then a thanksgiving cruise out of miami. We cruised with disney and princess in the past.

You'll get it back as long as you cancel the excursion within something like 4 days before the cruise.

Feb isn't all that far away! :) We have a March cruise (and a December cruise, so that's amusing me) and March seems just a moment away! (perhaps it's b/c final payment is in 12 days?)

You definitely get it back as long as you're within the cancellation policy - I've even heard that on the ship they will refund it with at least 24 hours' notice. (I can't verify that at the moment because their website is "on vacation".)

While it's a change from Disney where you are charged for the excursions once aboard, I actually kind of like it because that means my vacation is paid for up front and I only have to deal with spending money.

I agree, it's the first time we've had to pay for excursions up front so it seems strange! Actually it's good for us...we can book them in Canadian funds ahead of time instead of having them charged in US funds if we were to book anything on board the ship.

While it's a change from Disney where you are charged for the excursions once aboard, I actually kind of like it because that means my vacation is paid for up front and I only have to deal with spending money.

Yep; both ways are good, IMO. Just good in different ways!

Yep; both ways are good, IMO. Just good in different ways!