Silver Airways?

kclark9830

DIS Veteran
Does anyone have experience with Silver Airways? They've just come to our city with a cheap direct flight to MCO (we're in N AL). Their reviews aren't necessarily glowing, so I'm feeling unsure about booking them for our Sept trip. But the SW deals released yesterday were awful, so I'm considering them.

I can't help you there, but we had an unfortunate experience with a new airline that went out of business a couple of weeks before our trip. The refund didn't come close to the cost of the replacement tickets.

I have seen a lot of complaints on them regarding their flights to the Caribbean. I have no personal knowledge but....I would do some research

We fly Silver frequently. They’re a competent airline with courteous staff BUT they don’t have a huge fleet. If your flight is cancelled due to weather or whatever, it could be a loooooong time (days) before you are rebooked to your destination.

I can't help you there, but we had an unfortunate experience with a new airline that went out of business a couple of weeks before our trip. The refund didn't come close to the cost of the replacement tickets.

Silver Airways seems to be doing okay financially. I did a quick search online and found this article from August 2017. It highlights a new CEO, possible expansion of routes, and most significantly a firm order to lease 20 new planes. If they can afford new planes, I doubt they will suddenly go out of business.

http://www.thebahamasinvestor.com/2017/silver-airways-eyes-continued-growth/