snorkeling equipment

avalon

Earning My Ears
Can someone explain to me the options for renting snorkeling equipment? For a family of 4 I can pick up inexpensive equipment for about $160 at Sport Authority. Is it cheaper in the long run to just rent or to buy and deal with the hassel of packing the equipment. Or are there long lines to rent the equpment. Never snorkeled before, is it claustrophobic? Any advice? Thanks in advance.

I have read here that it is nice to have your own equipment to avoid the long lines. But, I am new at this and am not real sure. We are packing our own to try to save a little money since we already own it!!!

Snorkeling isn't at all claustrophobic......it is more like freedom. That is, as long as you aren't afraid of the water!!!!! You'll love it, its like flying kinda! My kids have loved it since they were TWO years old! (of course they drank a lot of water through their snorkels back then!)

Hope someone with more knowledge helps you out with these questions!

Do the snorkes that Castaway Cay rents have purge valves? And are the fins have open heels with straps?

Avalon,

I would definitely recommend buying your own equipment if you ever plan on snorkeling again. We bought cheap sets for about $25-30, which is about what you pay to rent them at Castaway Cay. You still have to get a vest, but that's free of charge. In addition, you can buy a mask that fits you. You may or may not get a rental that does the job. The lines are not terrible, there's quite a few of them and they move pretty quickly.

We usually do some snorkeling on our own at one of the other ports, in addition to Castaway Cay.

ChiTownZee,

I'm not sure, but I think that the fins they rent are closed heel, and I would doubt that the snorkels have purge valves. It's pretty basic stuff. Keep in mind that I've never rented it, but that's my recollection from standing in line waiting for the vests.

The fins have a closed heel, and there is no purge valve on the snorkel.