Spring Break 2019

Sorcerer Jody

Mouseketeer
Hi there! I am a teacher and so can only take vacations during school breaks. Are the crowds at Spring Break really that horrible? Worse than Christmas or the busiest days of summer? Might Spring Break 2019 be less crowded because many people might want to wait to see Star Wars Land in the summer? Wondering if I'm crazy to consider it with my 9 & 10 year olds...

I’d go when you can go. Spring break crowds are crazy. As long as you’re not bringing someone with Sensory processing disorder or autism i think you’ll be ok. We had 5 days in the parks. Our 4 days were amazing. Monday...boom! Sardines. We did one ride, food and had to leave with our preschooler with SPD.

Spring Break will indeed be very busy. Many people are trying to visit before the opening of SWGE. But there are pros and cons to that. Cons are obvious -- busy = crowded. But the pros are worth considering: Spring Break crowds mean that Disney will be operating on peak scheduling, i.e. longer hours, fuller staffing, most/all rides running at full capacity, restaurants running with more staff and longer hours, full nighttime entertainment schedule, etc. These things can make a big difference in how the parks handle the crowds and how the crowds feel to you. Crowded parks scheduled and staffed to handle the all those people really run much more smoothly than the same parks with moderate crowds and less staffing, less entertainment, and fewer rides running. If Spring Break is the time that works best for your and your family's schedule, go for it! Do your research here (ask any and all questions! study up on FP/MP), make your plans and reservations (TS and dining plan reservations open 60 days in advance, usually, so know what you want and book when the times open), then get ready to relax and go with the flow! Let the magic happen and you'll have a great trip!