Totally lost on Aulani!

KateDrake

DIS Veteran
Aloha!
Hoping you guys can help me a bit. I'm feeling way out of place because I'm a WDW and DLR pro, and since I have family in Hawai'i, we're used to doing that too, but combining Disney and Hawai'i is totally new!

I'm thinking of adding a few days at Aulani on our next trip to Oahu (not sure when this will be, likely in 2014). We travel to Oahu fairly often to visit my husband's family who live over in Kailua on the winward side. So here's what I'm wondering:

1. How many days/nights should I plan to spend there? I was thinking 3 nights, is that enough?

2. Is there any reason to keep my rental car while at Aulani? I'll have one earlier to go around the island to visit family, etc. but the parking price is making me think ditching it might be a good idea.

3. How can I get the best price? We aren't DVC owners, so I'm thinking renting points might be cheaper than paying the rack rates for rooms? How about the kama'aina discount, if I can get a relative to book it for us, is that a good option?

4. It would be me, DH, DD4 and our baby who is due in October, plus my MIL and SIL. Is it better to book two studios? A one-bedroom? Two bedroom? What would be the best deal, but also allow us enough space?

5. What have been your favorite activities, etc.? Any restaurants that are a must, activities we HAVE to do?

TIA for all your help! Can't wait to read more of your experiences at this resort, it sounds amazing!

1. How many days/nights should I plan to spend there? I was thinking 3 nights, is that enough?
Since you already are familiar with Oahu, 3 nights would be a nice stay. I've only done weekends since I was living on Maui at the time and just wanted to experience the resort while heading to Oahu for other reasons. Obviously longer is better since its great and you won't want to leave, but for your purposes I would think 3 would be sufficient.