Trying to get Membership Number.

MommaBerd

DIS Veteran
I recently bought resale and our deed was recorded on 1/2. Since I haven’t received my membership number in the mail, I decided to call and see if I could get it. The CM asked me for a number (and now I can’t remember exactly what she called it :sad2:) *just remembered she called it a “Club Number”, and I had no idea what she was asking for. Whatever the term was, I had never heard it used on here nor had seen it in my paperwork. I told her I had the contract number and the name of the previous member, but that was not what she wanted. THEN she told me that the title company should have the information because my membership number will be the same as the previous owner’s membership number; that what I purchased was that membership number. And she said that DVC would not be sending the information, that my title company should do it.

This all sounds wrong to me based on what I have read here, but since I’m new to all this, I figured I would double check what she told me versus your experiences. Thanks!

ETA: I even gave her the contract number of the previous member, but that was apparently not the magic number.

ETA again - I remembered the number she asked for!

Last edited:
You should wait a few more days. Usually it takes 2 weeks from the time recorded. You can then call and what they need is your name and social security number (maybe just the last 4 digits, I forget). They might tell you that they cannot do it. Just thank them, hang up and call back. If they tell you that you are not in the system yet, then that is probably true. Wait a couple more days and call back. If they ask you for the former owners contract number, member number, blah blah blah. They do not know what they are doing, thank them hang up and call back. Once you get the member number you will need to get a website activation code. They will probably have to transfer you to another department for that.