• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

upgrade?

shpdem

Mouseketeer
I am new to renting dvc points, do you ever get a free surprise upgrade upon check-in?

I am new to renting dvc points, do you ever get a free surprise upgrade upon check-in?

Its much more rare to get a free upgrade with DVC.
DVC does own 2% of the units as spares if there is a big maintaince issue that takes a room out of service.
With ownership, its like asking your condo manager if you can stay in the penthouse for your birthday....no, someone else owns the penthouse.

No. The only way is if the room you rented has issues and gets taken out of service and there is no other rooms of the same type available.

If you ask for an upgrade they will take the extra points from the members account you rented from and that is not good.

ok thanks for the info this is my first time renting, so better to ask now from the ones who know.

We just came back from Aulani and we actually was delightfully surprised that we received a free upgrade from a standard view to an island/garden view. I'm not sure why. It was the first time it's ever happened to us. I'm thinking it rarely ever happens...

ok thanks for the info this is my first time renting, so better to ask now from the ones who know.

:thumbsup2

We just came back from Aulani and we actually was delightfully surprised that we received a free upgrade from a standard view to an island/garden view. I'm not sure why. It was the first time it's ever happened to us. I'm thinking it rarely ever happens...

Be sure to check your points over the next week or so. Be SURE it was free.

Only time it really happens is if there's something wrong with the room intended for you, or they gave the room intended for you to someone else who had a problem with the room for them.