We're going back to Hawaii! November 2021 - A former local's pre-trip report

kimberwee

DIS Veteran
A little about us...

I'm Kimberwee...age 42 and huge Disney Fan! No, this is not my real name...however, for the sake of the trip report, here I am. I am a former resident of Hawaii, graduating high school on the east coast of Oahu, in Hawaii Kai. I even went to the University of Hawaii @ Manoa! I love all things Hawaii and wish that I got back there more often, but life. I live with my DH (40) and DD (14) in central Oklahoma.

We've been to Aulani as a family once before and this time, we are visiting for a Hawaiian Thanksgiving with DH's family. There will be 14 of us!

Here's a pic from our last trip:

Now on with the planning...

The Stay...

Did I mention we are DVC members? We've been members since 2017 and our home resort is The Polynesian...remember when I said I love all things Hawaii? Yep. We love our home resort.

Anyway, booking this trip was going to be a challenge. My MIL already had a room booked at the Marriott Vacation Club property down the beach, but why book there when we can stay at Aulani and had plenty of points (thanks COVID) to use for a 1 bedroom? We also have some other family members who are renting DVC points and have a 2 bedroom booked.

The trick was finding availability. Because Aulani isn't our home resort, we had to wait until 7 months before our vacation dates. It seemed that each day I logged in, the resort was booked. I was only able to get 2 days of the 5 we needed for that week and had to request a wait on what we really wanted, which was a 1 Bedroom Island or Poolside View.

We got lucky yesterday and logged in to find that 4 of the 5 nights in a 1 Bedroom Island view became available! We already had night 1 booked in a poolside 1 bedroom, so we kept it and now have the entirety of our stay booked. I went ahead and put the first night on a waitlist, so hopefully we can prevent from having to move rooms.