2016 Virtual 5K Series

Dr Gunnie

Still a kid
Virtual_5_K.png

Welcome to the Virtual 5K thread!

It's my belief that these virtual 5k races will only be as fun as we make them, so let's make them as FUN as possible!

I figured this would be a good place to talk about what type of things you'll be doing for your run, posting pics, maybe even figuring out some way to bring the magic to wherever you plan to run.

My background is simple. I'm not a runner. I've just started practicing for a 5K about a month ago. As someone who probably won't get an opportunity to do one of the real runDisney events, I figured I would sign up for the virtual races when they were announced and make the best out of them.

Hopefully this can be a place where we all meet to talk about what special things everyone has planned for each race and get to know the others that plan to run too!

The dates:

runDisney Virtual Running Shorts – Yellow Shoes
Completion Timeframe: May 15 – June 1, 2016

runDisney Virtual Running Shorts – Red Pants
Completion Timeframe: June 5 – June 18, 2016

runDisney Virtual Running Shorts – White Glove
Completion Timeframe: June 19 - June 30, 2016

Last edited:
Go ahead and introduce yourselves:

I'm Josh - I'm 41 and married with two kids. I'm a special education teacher and I coach high school football. My first 5K is this Saturday and I've just started training for it about a month ago. Right now my practice runs have me finishing just over the 38:00 mark. I've recently lost a little over 60 lbs, so I'm just beginning. I plan to do the Castaway Cay 5K in March and I hope to continue to run while I lose another 40 lbs and get to my goal weight. I've never been a big running fan, but the more I do it, the better it becomes. I would like to work my way up to 10K's and who knows... would also love to do a legit runDisney run at some point.

I've signed up to do all three events.

Last edited: