400 or 800 speed film??

Susie-Q

Earning My Ears
Does anyone have any recommendations? I'm leaning towards the 800 because it sounds like it could be good for any time of day but I really don't have a clue. Any WDW photo experts out there?

I use 800 for the night time parades and fireworks and 200 or 400 during the day.

Generally, the lower the speed, the higher the quality (sharpness) of the picture.

Wow, I did not know that at all - I thought the higher the speed, the sharper the picture. Good thing I asked!

Higher speeds are good for action...they "stop" it, and it will give you a better picture than if you tried to do it with a 200 speed, for example.

However, if you took a picture in sunshine of something relatively still, the lower speeded picture will be sharper.

It's all so confusing. I'm sure someone who is a better photographer than I am will chime in.

I am by no means an expert--my camera is just a simple Minolta point and shoot (with a zoom lense--gotta have that!).

That said, I always use the 800 speed. I know that the lower speeds give sharper pictures. But I like to take action shots, so that speed gives me that capability. I have been happy with the photos overall, even the daytime ones in bright sunshine. Nice clear bright colors, etc. Using the higher speed gives me good shots in a variety of settings. We even got some good photos of MSEP last trip!

I just got 14 rolls of film developed from Disney and Super Soap Weekend. I used my 800 speed film for night shots that I have used 400 for in the past....mistake. I was hoping the 800 would be better with action/night shots, but the quality of the 800 speed photos was very disappointing. I think I am finally resolved to only using 400 speed film from now on.
Just my opinion.