Advice on a fifth wheel purchase

ProudSoccerMom

Mouseketeer
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting in the camping forum. We are at the beginning stages of researching a fifth wheel purchase. After last year, we decided to invest in our own lodging, so to speak. Some info about us...it is my husband, 15 year old son, myself and our 2 year old fur baby Golden Retriever. My husband grew up camping, first with an RV and then a fifth wheel. So, he has experience. I do not.

I’m in charge of this first phase of research as my husband said he’ll be happy as long as I am...he’s a smart man :-) And, it’s been a long time since he’s camped, so he wants to see what’s new.

I am completely overwhelmed with the number of choices. So, I am seeking some advice. Here’s what I know we want...enough space to sleep 5-6 comfortably (we plan to take my parents with us on a trip out west to visit the Grand Canyon again); good storage space; and, this might not be an option, but a washer and dryer. That’s it so far.

Based on these criteria, I’d love to hear your opinions and recommendations both in terms of manufacturer and model; good info sources; other features you’ve found to be important, and anything else you think might help.

Thanks for listening, and thanks in advance for any help you can provide!

First, welcome to the camping forum! You’ll find a great group of friendly, helpful people here.

I have a TT not a fifth wheel so I can’t advise on that specifically but can tell you what I did for ours since we were also new to it as of 2018.

First, know that you are likely going to have issues with any of them. I went in thinking “new camper, no problems” just like a car but that isn’t the case. It takes time to “work the bugs out” so pack your patience and take it all in stride.