Aulani - Traffic on Oahu??

JenLyn1620

Earning My Ears
Hoping to book a trip to Aulani in December 2013. I have read that traffic on Oahu is really bad. How bad is it really? Any other cities you can compare it to? Is it just bad going through Honolulu on the highway? We will be renting a car, and I am a little nervous to be driving in an unfamiliar place. Thanks!!

We've been to Oahu exactly once so I am far from an expert. The traffic in Honolulu was pretty much horrible. The traffic in other parts of the island wasn't nearly as bad, however. We're going to Aulani in June and are renting a car. I plan to stay out of Honolulu until the last day/night when we stay at Waikiki the night before we fly out.

It really just depended on what time of day you were traveling. In no traffic it would take around 25 minutes (if I remember correctly) to get into downtown Waikiki from Aulani. If there was traffic we allowed for about an hour so that we would not be stressed. The traffic that we encountered was not the greatest but it was what I would describe as "rolling along". Meaning you were slowed by it, occasionally to a stop, but it was still moving forward- as opposed to being at a stop for a long time.

We are from Seattle, which is pretty bad traffic wise, so I really didnt think it was all that bad. If you plan for it you should be fine.

Hoping to book a trip to Aulani in December 2013. I have read that traffic on Oahu is really bad. How bad is it really? Any other cities you can compare it to? Is it just bad going through Honolulu on the highway? We will be renting a car, and I am a little nervous to be driving in an unfamiliar place. Thanks!!

The usual rush hour sucks in terms of traffic other than that it's smooth sailing! The drive to/from Honolulu and really pretty much anywhere on the island is quite easy assuming you avoid when people are trying to get to work or home.