Easier to add or remove a person?

Karin1984

DIS Veteran
I have booked myself a solo trip on the Panama Canal for March 2022. I'm excited to have something to look forward to and tick New Orleans and the Panama Canal off my bucket list.
Now my Disney buddy, who is not really into cruising, might or might not want to join, which I am totally fine with, I will enjoy this cruise as a solo or with her.
She has never cruised with Disney and she can't really picture what it's like and 2 weeks sound long to her. Plus with her work, it's hard to plan things this far in advance.

What should I do, add her now and remove her again if she can't / don't want to join?
Or wait till she knows what she wants?

I have never done this, I think I have read before adding people can be difficult depending on the configuration of the room. On the other hand, is that still the case when you go from 1 to 2 people in a room? Each room has a bed and a pull-out sofa, right?

I think it's the same rate regardless if its one or two people. So if she later finds out you she can't go, I think you could modify her name and put some one else. It matter's if you are adding a third person since the rate would be whatever it would be on the date you added them.

The general thought is that it's easier to remove someone before PIF than to add them. For some cruises where many of the rooms are at capacity, you may not be able to add a person due to lack of lifeboat space or the kids club is full for that age group (if you're adding a child.). For the panama canal, while all the rooms will be occupied, there aren't many that are at capacity due to fewer children on board. Also, if you add someone after the rate increases, they'll be charged that current rate, it's better to lock them in at a lower rate.

However, if you are doing a restricted rate room (*GT,), you can't make any changes to the reservation--no adding/removing/changing the occupants.