How long have you ever gone without health insurance?

Kitty 34

Hums in her sleep
My son has one more year of college (he's a 5th yr Senior) but our insurance runs out on him this summer.

We will definetly be paying for the extension but it's amazing how many people I have run into who say they have lived a couple of years or so without any insurance.

Except for a couple of months the summer I graduated and until my insurance at my job kicked in, I have always had insurance. I never thought about it much, tho, those few months I didn't have it........must be part of youth!!!:D

How long have you gone without being covered???:D

He might be able to get coverage through his college. When I went back to college the 2nd time, I bought the family coverage for myself and my DD. I have never been without coverage in case of an emergency. My DB was in the hospital for awhile while in college that was unexpected.

My son faces this same problem next year.

I will have to ask about an extension. I didn't think it was allowed with our group heatlh plans.

My dh and I were just discussing this. DS graduates this coming week, but may go on to grad school.

Personally, we've never been without ins. Scary thought.

herc.

I went about 9 months when I graduated from College and before I began a "real" job. It didn't bother me too much, I paid for my annual physical in cash. I was young and healthy and knew I didn't have any major health problems. I did think twice about doing things like rollerblading though! I remember, putting on my rollerblades (I'm not good) and stumbling around, and then I took them right back off, thinking of what a broken arm would cost!!!

I may have to do it for a few weeks this summer as I change jobs and move to Fl. I have all my appointments scheduled before my current insurance runs out....

You just do what you have to do. If he's healthy and not accident prone, he'll be okay for a few months!

Holly