Motion sickness patch

CorumJ

Earning My Ears
Hello,

Has anyone ever used a motion sickness patch, and do they seem to work?

I've never used any motion sickness remedy before, but I love to ride rides and seem to have gotten more and more motion sick as I've gotten older. I can't ride the teacup type rides anymore, and ever since Universal's Dueling Dragons totally knocked me out a few years ago (I literally laid on a bench for two hours and felt bad even the next day), I've avoided looping/spinning rides. I didn't ride TOT or RNR on our last Disney trip because I didn't want to ruin the trip by getting sick, but I really regretted it. This time, I'd like to ride those and Space Mountain and perhaps MS. When I asked my doctor about Dramamine or this new wristband thing I'd heard of, he prescribed some patches for me. Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Jennifer

Hi Jennifer,
I used these patches last year for our trip to Disney and was able to ride everything with no motion sickness problems. The problems I did have were the side affects from the patch. Each patch is good for 72 hrs. I put the first one on before we left home (even planes bother me). No problems. 3 days later 2nd patch. So far just a little dry mouth. Next day I'm having trouble focusing my eyes. Now I wear glasses anyway (near sighted) and it didn't affect my distance vision, but suddenly I couldn't focus up close. Even with my glasses off. Couldn't read, couldn't put my make-up on very well:eek: . Still terrible dry mouth. So I took off the patch. It took another 2 days before I could focus properly again. But I kept going on the rides and still did't get sick. Maybe I just needed a lower dose or something.
There was a thread a little while ago about Bonine(sp?). A pill that lasts 24 hrs., not too drowsy, over the counter. Do a search. I'm going to try that this year.
Hope this helps,
-Rachael