NYC w/wheelchair

Becky_Boop

Mouseketeer
We are going to be in NYC July 30th-August 4th. One member of our party has MS (multiple sclerosis) and can not walk long distances- her limit is approximately a short block. We called the hotel, and they have given us a handicapped accessible room, and a free wheelchair to use for our stay, similar to what the Disney resorts do.

Although this is our 5th trip to NYC, this is the first time that we have needed a wheelchair, so we have a few questions. Has anyone had any experience with using cabs with a wheelchair involved? Is it easy to push a wheelchair on those sidewalks? Do you think it's way too crowded? TIA!

I was hoping someone with experience would respond but I will take a stab at it since your trip is so close.

I have lived right outside of the city for my whole life. I have no experience negotiating the city with a wheelchair but I do have experience with a stroller. while I recognize their differences, there are similarities.

As long as the wheelchair folds up, it *should* fit in the trunk of a cab. Make sure that the cab driver does not lock his keys in the car if he helps you load the wheelchair (it was a random singular experience! :rotfl: ). I've seen luggage and strollers fit in cabs so I can't see it being much of a problem. The only thing I would consider is where you are catching the cab. Frequently, you jump in and out of a cab at a light or on the side of the street, blocking traffic. With a wheelchair, your group will not be moving all that fast so take that into consideration when catching a cab. You can use the subway system, there are elevators available and I would suggest that the member with MS get out of the wheelchair and another person lift it over the gap. It's a little tricky to manuver.