OT- National Society of Leadership and Success

southernbelle5672

DIS Veteran
Hey guys. This is a little off topic but I am hoping that someone here can help me. I am a college student and I recently received an invitation to join the "National Society of Leadership and Success". It says that I have been invited because I have above a 3.3 GPA. It also says that it is an asset to your resume' to join and stuff like that. I am concerned that it is a scam.

The letter inviting me to join is from someone at my school and I have been in contact with her. She wasn't very helpful in telling me if it was a scam (maybe the school gets money for every student that joins?) Is this like the "Who's Who" invitation that you get in high school? I know that is really not worthy anything. It will cost me $75 to join and if it is legitimate and worth it, I don't mind paying the money.

Has anyone heard of it?

I got the same letter in the mail from the national honor society, but I don't think that it is very legit.

From what I've seen, (they have this at my school too, I did not join) this hasn't really benefited anyone who has joined.

Hey guys. I just wanted to tell everyone that I e-mailed my advisor about the group and this is what he said:

"You’re right to be cautious, and you’re the 2nd person who’s come to me about this.

To me, and this is just my opinion, it’s exactly as you suspect. A money maker for the company, but not a bonifide organization. They have a super slick website with video of Goldie Hawn and some other celebrities, but it comes across more like an infomercial than an academic society. Plus the seventy five dollar membership is a little steep. Because it’s so new, I would not be comfortable mentioning them in any resume or school application that I did.

With that being said, I would go to the informational session (I’m planning to go) to see what they talk about. Perhaps they are onto something, and if so it may be worth getting into."