That one time we went BACK to Universal! June 21 Update 6/7 We came, We saw, We tried.

Bethany10

DIS Veteran
We’re back! Like many others, this trip was supposed to happen in 2020. Like many others I spent 2020 creating and then undoing plans as the situation continued to evolve. I am thrilled to be making final decisions and paying things off in prep to leave.

I really enjoyed writing the trip report in 2019, and frequently come back to it, especially as 2020 dragged on. For both new and returning readers, Welcome! And thank you for giving me your time and attention.

Some background:
We are Bethany, long time Dis lurker and reader of trip reports. I’m a graphic designer in the midwest, and have spent much of the last 15 months working from my dining room table (as opposed to my corporate cube). My DH Todd (T in the last report) is along for the ride again, along with our 2 kids. DS Callan (C now 12) and DD Anna (A now 15).

We saved and saved for years to be able to take a bucket list trip to Universal in 2019. It was supposed to be a one and done trip for us (spoiler alert: it wasn’t). Just 3 weeks before we were booked to leave my mom passed away. The previous months had been a whirlwind of her getting sick, recovering then relapsing. Complicating that situation, I had knee surgery in January of ‘19 and just never had the opportunity to recover as I needed to be present for my mom. All of this to say while the trip in 2019 was wonderful and worth doing it was also done in a fog for all of us and for me, a lot of pain. By the end of the trip, I had gotten Todd to agree we really needed to come back when we were in better shape. Our passes weren’t set to expire until June of 2020 and we could fit another trip in without having to renew them.

Insert maniacal laughter here

Our 2020 looked something like this: