Trainee Nurse - scary emotional placement

Little Flower

DIS Veteran
Hi everyone, my name is Marie and i'm 32. i'm currently studying for my degree in nursing and am on placement for 2 months at the cancer centre in what was my local hospital.

I'm finding it a really great place to work and i love the fact that i am nursing people at a time when i can really make a difference - even if i can just offer comfort to them in their awful situation.

The trouble is, even though i was expecting this to be a really tough placement emotionally, i hadn't realised just how hard it was going to be. there are days when i just dont think i can cope.

Its a difficult situation, as i am married to a soldier and we have just been posted 100 miles away from home, yet i still have to carry on my studies so i stay away from home whilst i am at work. this makes it very difficult to find anyone to talk to after i have had a particularly awful shift, as i dont want to spoil my phone calls home

Sorry for my little outpouring, it feels good just to write this all down

Hi Marie.

What a fabulous thing you are doing. I remember 10 years back going with my MIL through this awful ordeal. The nurses, assistants, volunteers, each and every one held such a special place for us. I don't think you honestly know exactly how much you do...So thank you for that :hug:

Please feel free here to release, vent, chat, cheer, anything you feel like, at any time..:grouphug:

You might also want to check out allnurses.com. They have BBs for student nurses, specialty boards for oncology (and others), general nursing boards and even some nursing humor(kind of dark, but sometimes you have to laugh or you'll just burst out crying.)