Unemployed

juliette

Crazy for DISNEY
Okay guys maybe you guys can help me. I lost my job back in Oct and still am unable to find a job. I want to know if there is anyone else that is collecting that can answer my question. I hear so may different things that you can collect for a year then you just get the one extention and thats it. At first I heard you only get 6 months but then I got 13 more weeks. But now I'm scared because I ve been looking for something this long and nothing and what if I dont find anything when my 13 weeks end. I leave in NJ so if anyone can post there experience with Unemployment please do. I am new to all this I have never been unemployed. I really didnt know if I could post this but you guys are so helpful.

Thank you so much

Juliette, unfortunately there are alot of people in your shoes in NJ.

We live in NJ and DH used to work in NY. He collected from NY for 6 months. And then after several months of no money, he was sent a notice saying he had an extension of another 3 months. I would say 6 months is the minimum here in NJ.

The down side (for me) is that while 9 months of unemployment money was good, DH has been out of work for 2 years (which leaves us with 15 months of no income from him). So we are struggling, but surviving.

I do know that you can get a part time job and collect partial unemployment benefits here in NJ.

I've said it before, if I can be of any support, feel free to PM me. Seems like I've been living the ups and downs for too long and I'd be glad to share experiences with others.