What are the pro/con of the Disney Resort Hotels? Which are your favorites?

TwingleMum

DIS Veteran
Planning a trip to TDR in 2024. I think I would like to stay on property. I am a total newbie and looking for advice Or your experiences. I think we would stay 4 days. Thanks again 😊

On property isn't the same as WDW. And it's not even like DL. TDL is more like if a Disney Resort was installed on Roosevelt Island in NYC. Just to set the scene. And while it is attached to Urayasu, it's divided away by the highway and train lines which kind of renders the area like an island. So, in addition to The Ambassador, The Disneyland Hotel, the Miracosta, and Toy Story Hotel, there's a Sheraton, Hilton, Grand Nikko, Hotel Okura, and Maihama Hotel First Resort. There's also other hotels close by, and another whole area not "on property" where the Celebration Hotel is and also some other hotels like the Tokyu Hotel and Oriental Hotel Tokyo Bay. Depending on what time of year you go, you may need to have a non-Disney hotel lined up as a placeholder. Some days/weeks are very busy and competition for the rooms can be fierce. Good luck planning!!

Pros - early entry to the parks (exact park depends on hotel) and Disney theming if that matters to you
Cons - price and annoying to book

Historically, the cheapest Disney hotel, Celebration was more expensive than any of the non-Disney options while being less convenient. Post pandemic, the Sheraton and Hilton prices have increased so much that they aren't always cheaper than Celebration and Ambassador.

Toy Story and Celebration only give early entry into Disneyland while the other 3 give early entry into both parks. My friend who frequently buys vacation packages likes the theming of the Disneyland Hotel and Toy Story best.

Pros - early entry to the parks (exact park depends on hotel) and Disney theming if that matters to you
Cons - price and annoying to book