~*~HELP~*~ Need advice using points on cruise

shari2shop

Cinderella is proof that shoes can change a girl's
I can't seem to use my DVC points!!! I was waitlisted for Thanksgiving ressies but they did not come through so I banked my 2008 points (I guess I'll just loose my 25 2007 points I had banked). My use year is March and I'm a teacher so I know I can't go until next summer. I hate WDW in summer so I'm thinking maybe a summer cruise. I will have 125 2008 banked, 125 2009 points and can borrow 125 2010 points. So basically I have 375 points. I know my 2 kids (9 & 11) and I can go but I'm not sure if my hubby would be joining us.

How do I do this using points? (I know it is not wise point wise to do a cruise with points but I need to use my points)

Can I book the kids and myself and add someone else later? If I added another adult later would my kid remain as the second adult and the added adult be put as the 4th person? Or would they adjust adults/kids?

Can I book one or two people with points and pay cash for the others?

I'm sure I'm not thinking about other things so any advice is appreciated!

Thanks
:wave:
Shari

We've booked DCL cruises before with DVC points. I'm of the opinion that it's not a bad use of points, given that DCL includes lodging, entertainment (shows) and meals/drinks (not alcohol though). DVC at WDW means you still have to pay for park tickets and dining.

Anyway, you can book a DCL cruise 100% with points, or a partial use of points and cash. This is what we did for our upcoming January cruise (two adults, one kid with points, one kid with cash). Also, there is a $95 transfer fee. Additionally, using points does not include ground transfers or cruise insurance. Both are available for purchase.